Clear the stage for the French horn: not only appreciated by Romantics such as Robert Schumann for its soft sound and the natural associations connected with it, but also chosen by contemporary composers such as György Ligeti for new experiments in tuning and (upper) tone, the instrument is the focus of the SIGNAL spring tour. The program opens with the German premiere of the orchestral work Z - Metamorphosis, in which the Greek composer Minas Borboudakis has processed sound material, musical gestures and moments from his music theatre work Z, which premiered in 2018. The crowning finale is Antonín Dvořák's Symphony No. 8, in the creation of which the composer was inspired by the Bohemian landscape.

Stefan Dohr, Solo-Horn
N.N., 2. Horn
Members and alumni of the Junge Deutsche Philharmonie, 3. and 4. Horn

Jonathan Nott, Principal Conductor and Artistic Advisor

Minas Borboudakis (*1974)
„Z - Metamorphosis“ for Orchestra (2021)
Commissioned by the Mozarteumorchester Salzburg and the Junge Deutsche Philharmonie / German premiere

Robert Schumann (1810–1856)
Concert Piece for Four Horns F-Major op. 86 (1849)

György Ligeti (1923–2006)
Hamburg Concerto (1998/99)

Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)
Symphony no. 8 G-Major op. 88 (1889)

MON 27.03.2023 / 19.00  Bamberg, Konzerthalle (Public Final Rehearsal)
TUE 28.03.2023 / 20.00  Berlin, Philharmonie 
WED 29.03.2023 / 20.00  Hamburg, Elbphilharmonie 
THU 30.03.2023 / 19.30  Dresden, Kulturpalast
SUN 02.04.2023 / 16.00  Köln, Philharmonie

Creditline FAP 23